• Background

1st District Court

1st District Court

Michigan's Secretary of State Point System

Under Michigan's point system, each traffic law violation has a point value.  Points are entered in your record after you receive a conviction or are determined responsible for a civil infraction.  Points remain on your driving record for two years from the date you are found responsible for, or guilty of, the violation.  Following are some violations and their point values.

  6 Points:

  • Manslaughter, negligent homicide or other felony involving use of a motor vehicle;
  • Operating under the influence of liquor or drugs;
  • Failing to stop and give identification at the scene of a crash;
  • Reckless driving;
  • Unlawful bodily alcohol content of .08 or more;
  • Refusal to take a chemical test;
  • Fleeing or eluding a police officer.

  4 Points:

  • Drag Racing;
  • Impaired driving;
  • Under age 21 with any bodily alcohol content;
  • 16 mph or more over the legal speed limit.

  3 Points:

  • Careless driving;
  • Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign or improper passing;
  • 11 through 15 mph over the legal speed limit.

  2 Points:

  • 10 mph or less over the legal speed limit;
  • Open alcohol container in vehicle;
  • All other moving violations of traffic laws;
  • Refusal of Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) by anyone under age 21.

FOR GENERAL INFORMATION NOT LISTED FROM THE MICHIGAN SECRETARY OF STATE:

Telephone:  (517) 322-1166    OR   http://www.michigan.gov/sos