Michigan Concealed Weapons and Firearms Laws (Michigan State Police)
Conditions and Instructions for Application
Concealed Pistols License Information
Public Act 381 of 2000
House Bill No. 4530, which amends Public Act 372, was signed by Governor John Engler on January 1, 2001 and is effective July 1, 2001.
The following is a synopsis of the parts of that bill that affect the private citizen and information on how to apply for a Concealed Pistols License. A complete copy of the bill is available though your local library or on the Internet at www.michiganlegislature.org. In addition, a copy of a compilation of the firearm laws of this state shall be furnished upon filing an application.
Concealed Pistol License application kits are available at county clerks office during normal business hours at no cost or may be downloaded and printed. An individual may not be denied an application kit.
Fingerprint Clearance and Charges
A state and federal fingerprint clearance is required. The fingerprints may be taken at any livescan agency for $15 within 45 days after applying for a Concealed Pistol License at the County Clerks. The application must be filed with the county clerk in the county in which the individual resides. The applicant must pay $100.00 to the county clerk for the CPL application, and the Monroe County Clerk’s Office will charge $10 for a hard card to be issued, for a total of $110. The board is not required to issue a concealed pistol license if the applicant's fingerprints are determined to be unclassifiable by the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
- Must be at least 21 years of age.
- Must either be a citizen of the United States or a resident legal alien.
- Must have resided in this state for at least 6 months.
- Can never have been convicted of a felony in this state or elsewhere. (Felony is defined as a violation of a law that is punishable by death or imprisonment for more than one year.)
- Can not have been convicted of a misdemeanor in this state or elsewhere in the past three years.
- Can not have been convicted of the following misdemeanors in the past eight years:
- Drunk driving, second offense, MCL 257.625
- Reckless driving, MCL 257.626
- Driving while license suspended or revoked, MCL 257.904
- Hindering or obstructing weights and measures enforcement officer, MCL 290.629
- Hindering, obstructing, assaulting, or committing bodily injury upon director or authorized representative per Motor Fuels Quality Act, MCL 290.650
- Knowingly or intentionally possessing controlled substance, MCL 333.7403
- Displaying sexually explicit materials to minors, MCL 722.677
- Assault or domestic assault, MCL 750.81
- Aggravated assault or aggravated domestic assault, MCL 750.81A
- Fourth degree child abuse, MCL 750.136B
- Accosting, enticing, or soliciting a child for immoral purposes, MCL 750.145A
- Vulnerable adult abuse, MCL 750.145N
- Solicitation to commit a felony, MCL 750.157B
- Impersonating sheriff, conservation officer, coroner, constable, or police officer, MCL 750.215
- Illegal sale of a firearms or ammunition, MCL 750.223
- Illegal sale of a self-defense spray, MCL 750.224D
- Sale or possession of a switchblade, MCL 750.226A
- Improper transportation of a firearm, MCL 750.227C
- Failure to have a pistol safety inspected, MCL 750.228
- Accepting a pistol in pawn, MCL 750.229
- Failure to register the purchase of a firearm or a firearm component, MCL750.232
- Improperly obtaining a pistol, making a false statement on an application to purchase a pistol, or using false identification to purchase a pistol, MCL 750.232A
- Intentionally aiming a firearm without malice, MCL 750.233
- Intentionally discharging a firearm aimed without malice, MCL 750.234
- Possessing a firearms on prohibited premises, MCL 750.234D
- Brandishing a firearm in public, MCL 750.234E
- Possession of a firearm by an individual less than 18 years of age, MCL 750.234F
- Intentionally discharging a firearm aimed without malice causing injury, MCL 750.235
- Parent of a minor who possessed a firearm in a weapon free school zone, MCL 750.235A
- Setting a spring gun or other device, MCL 750.236
- Possessing a firearm while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or a drug, MCL 750.237
- Weapon free school zone violation, MCL 750.237A
- Stalking, MCL 750.411H
- Reckless, careless, or negligent use of a firearm resulting in injury or death, MCL 752.861
- Reckless, careless, or negligent use of a firearm resulting in property damage, MCL 752.862
- Reckless discharge of a firearm, MCL 752.863A
- Any violation of a law of the United States, another state, or a local unit of government of this state or another state substantially corresponding to a violation described in the above.
- Can not have been found guilty, but mentally ill, of any crime.
- Can not have offered a plea of not guilty, or been acquitted of any crime, by reason of insanity.
- Can never have been subject to an order of involuntary commitment in an inpatient or outpatient setting due to mental illness.
- Can not have a diagnosed mental illness at the time application is made.
- Can not be under a court order of legally incapacity in this state or elsewhere.
- Can not have been dishonorably discharged from the U.S. Armed Forces.
- Can not be the subject of an order or disposition under any of the following:
- Court ordered involuntary hospitalization or alternative treatment, MCL 330.1464A
- Order finding a person legally incapacitated, MCL 700.5107
- Stalking, personal protection order, or injunctive order, MCL 600.2950 & 600.2950A
- Release of a defendant subject to protective conditions, only if the conditions are imposed, MCL 76506B
- Order covering a person found not guilty by reason of insanity, MCL 769.16B
- Must have completed the necessary training required under the Act.
The training required under this Act must be a program certified by this state, or a national or state firearms training organization within 5 years prior to application and provides instruction in all of the following:
- The safe storage, use, and handling of a pistol.
- Ammunition knowledge, and the fundamentals of pistol shooting.
- Pistol shooting positions.
- Firearms and the law, including civil liability issues.
- Avoiding criminal attack and controlling a violent confrontation.
- All laws that apply to carrying a concealed pistol in this state.
- At least 8 hours of instruction, including 3 hours of firing range time.
The instructor must be certified by this state or a national organization and must provide a signed certificate attesting that the above topics were covered and the applicant successfully completed the course.
For a list of pistol training or safety programs in your area, contact your county concealed weapon licensing board or call Monroe County Clerks Office at 734-240-7020.
The County Clerk's office shall issue a license or notice of statutory disqualification within 45 days after the date the applicant has classifiable fingerprints are taken.
There are two instances when a clerk may issue an emergency CPL:
1. The individual has obtained a personal protection order issued under MCL 600.2950 or 600.2950a.
2. A county sheriff determines there is clear and convincing evidence to believe the safety of the applicant or the safety of a member of the applicant’s family or household is endangered by the applicant’s inability to immediately obtain a license to carry a concealed pistol.
An applicant for an emergency license must meet the state and federal requirement listed previously in this guide.
An applicant for an emergency license must complete a valid pistol training course and apply for a CPL within ten business days of applying for the license.RI-012 (11/2015) MICHIGAN STATE POLICE Page 6 of 8
An emergency license is unrestricted and valid for 45 days or until the county clerk issues a license of a notice of statutory disqualification, whichever occurs first. Possession of an emergency CPL does not exempt the holder from the requirement to obtain a license to purchase a pistol or exempt a firearms dealer from running a background check prior to the sale of a pistol.
If the county clerk issues a notice of statutory disqualification, the county clerk must within five business days do all of the following:
1. Inform the applicant in writing of the reasons for the disqualification that includes a statement of each statutory disqualification identified, the source record for each statutory disqualification identified, and the contact information for the source of the record for each statutory disqualification identified.
2. Inform the applicant that he or she should contact the source of the record for any statutory disqualification to correct any errors in the record resulting in the statutory disqualification.
3. Inform the applicant in writing of his or her right to appeal the notice of statutory disqualification to their circuit court of jurisdiction.
1. An applicant may appeal the notice of statutory disqualification, failure to issue a receipt, or failure to issue a license to the circuit court in the judicial circuit in which he or she resides. The appeal shall be determined by a review of the record for error.
2. If the circuit court determines the notice of statutory disqualification, failure to issue a receipt, or failure to issue a license was clearly erroneous, the court shall order the county clerk to issue a receipt or CPL as required by Michigan law.
3. If the court determines the decision to deny issuance of a receipt or CPL to an applicant was arbitrary and capricious, the court shall order the county clerk, entity taking fingerprints, or the state, to pay the actual costs and actual attorney fees of the applicant in appealing the denial, according to each entity’s degree of responsibility.
4. If the court determines an applicant’s appeal was frivolous, the court shall order the applicant to pay the actual costs and actual attorney fees of the county clerk, entity taking fingerprints, or the state in responding to the appeal.
Exceptions to Carrying
All concealed pistol licenses are unrestricted. However, licensees are still prohibited from carrying a pistol at:
- A school or school property except that a parent or legal guardian of a student of the school is not precluded from carrying a concealed pistol while in a vehicle on school property while dropping off or picking up a student.
- A private or public day care center, child caring agency or child placing agency
- A sports arena or stadium
- A dining room, lounge or bar area of premises licensed under the Michigan Liquor control Act. Does not apply to the owner or employee of the premises.
- Any property or facility owned or operated by a church, synagogue, mosque, temple or other place of worship unless the presiding officials permit the carrying on the property.
- An entertainment facility that the individual know or should know has a seating capacity of 2,500 or more or that has a sign above each public entrance stating that the seating is 2,500 or more.
- A dorm or classroom of a college or university.
A pistol also cannot be carried in violation of the Gaming Control and Revenue Act.
A license to carry a concealed pistol is valid for five years and may be renewed in the same manner as the original license was received. Applicants renewing their CPL must pay 115.00 to the county clerk for the CPL application, and the Monroe County Clerk’s Office will charge $10 for a hard card to be issued, for a total of $125.
Individuals that have a permit that is currently valid or expired less than one year do not have to submit to a training certificate. Individuals with permits expired for more than a year must re-take the training class and re-apply for a CPL.
All NRA safety class certificates must be dated within the past 5 years from the date of application. If not, person must take the safety class again. Any certificates dated prior to 5 years before application will not be accepted.
Possession of the License While Carrying
An individual licensed under this act to carry a concealed pistol must have the license in his or her possession any time they are carrying a pistol. He or she must show it, along with their driver's license or Michigan personal identification card to a peace officer upon request.
Any time the licensee is stopped by a peace officer, they must disclose whether they are carrying a pistol on their person or in the vehicle.
Purchasing a Pistol
A person who is issued a license after July 1, 2001 to carry a concealed pistol is not required to obtain a license to purchase prior to purchasing a pistol.
However, if the purchaser has a CCW license in lieu of a purchase permit, the seller must complete a pistol sales record. These forms are available at local police or sheriff departments. The seller keeps one copy of the form, the purchaser keeps one copy, and a third copy is sent to Michigan State Police, Firearms Records Unit, 7150 Harris Drive, Lansing, MI 48913.
Neither possession of a CCW license nor transaction of the sales record nullifies the necessity of complying with the Safety Inspection Certificate (registration) requirement.
A Federal Firearms Licensed (FFL) dealer is exempt from getting a license to purchase for pistols purchased for the sake of resale. The FFL does not exempt guns purchased for their personal use.